A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Are the Obese Fighting a Losing Battle?

Leave a comment

 

3572721567_398621b4c0_o

Pete Thomas/Flickr

According to a report on Philly.com, from an article written for The Sacramento Bee, Armando Gonzalez is a local therapist who offers counseling for weight-loss. “Dr. Mondo”, a pseudonym for Gonzalez, did some research on the contestants of the NBC television show, The Biggest Loser, and the author of the article, Sammy Caiola, writes that Dr. Mondo found that after the slimmer contestants come back home, the weight came back to a majority of them.

Although, Armando Gonzalez did not contribute to a recent study, his research on The Biggest Loser for his graduate dissertation, revealed that it was a fifty-fifty split of contestants who kept the weight off versus those who gained the weight back. Newer studies have focused more on physiological effects of dramatic weight loss, but “Dr. Mondo’s” 2009 graduate piece focused on the psychological struggles of those who have lost a surplus of weight. In addition, Gonzalez says that motivation is put on the back-burner in the weight-loss conversation in favor of a focus on self-control, such as cutting out junk food.

It is hard for me not to agree with “Dr. Mondo’s” advice on weight-loss. Like him, I have had weight problems in the past, so I know first-hand the mental toll it can take on someone. He has a great quote in the article, he says: “It’s not just because I like cheeseburgers, there’s a deeper relationship that I have cultivated over time with that food, and understanding that is going to be the key to making different choices, and the key to me finding self-care in new areas separate from food.” His own, online program which he named Roadmap to Weight Loss, divides the process into eight steps. First, the person has to find an “anchor for change” and lastly, the person must “rewrite their story” and accept their new identity.

I believe that it is important to remember that weight-loss has to be a lifestyle change. I have found that the most difficult part of my journey was to stay motivated, to keep exercise and healthier eating a part of my life. To answer my blog’s title question: No. The battle is one in which people who struggle with obesity can win. I have kept a majority of my weight off for the past six years and continue to try and make healthy eating a priority in order to continue a long, healthy life. You can control whether or not the weight comes back.

 

 

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

