A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Get Back on Track with your New Year Fitness Resolutions

Leave a comment

New-Year_Resolutions_list

WikiCommons/Public Domain

If you have read my past blog posts, it is clear as day that I frequent Philly.com and their lifestyle section. Recently, I discovered a column written by Kimberly Garrison. “Do these 6 things to recharge your summer fitness routine” states that “Ms. Garrison is a wellness coach and owner of One on One Ultimate Fitness in Philadelphia”. Anyhow, the title of the article demanded my attention because I know how hard new year resolutions are to keep, so I thought this would be an interesting article to piggy-back ideas off of.

Ms. Garrison starts off her column with her first tip to get back on track and stay there:

  1. Budget your calories

I cannot say that I am sad to read that calories are still seen as important. However, just like money how one budgets their calories is pivotal. In the article she adds that one has to become knowledgeable of what his or her daily caloric needs are in order to maintain or lose weight. I can agree with her statement because I made a mistake of not using any type of fitness calculator, which Ms. Garrison touches upon. Instead, I deprived myself and any type of junk food was out of the question. Perhaps, the lack of junk food was one reason why the weight fell off of me, but it made me very ornery towards my family because I was often starving.

 Her second tip builds on using a fitness calculator.

  1. Record numbers

Numbers are important when one is trying to reach his or her weight loss goals. However, many people find it hard to remember to pick up a pencil and write down numbers on a piece of paper. Ms. Garrison’s solution is a free app called “My Fitness Pal”. She says that “My Fitness Pal” will add up all of the food that one takes in and burns off. In addition, it will inform him or her where they stand so guessing will not be in the equation.

 The third tip lends itself to cheating.

  1. Feel free to cheat

If you’re anything like me, you love little hacks or ways to beat the “diet system”. Ms. Garrison informs her readers that it is okay to build daily cheats into your diet. There is a great quote where she recommends that “if someone wants ice cream he or she should go to an ice cream shop as opposed to buying a whole container that can sit in the freezer, tempting someone to overeat”. I could not agree more with tip number three; however I don’t recommend cheating on a diet until one has been dieting and exercising for at least one month. I tend to believe that after one month, the habit of monitoring what one eats and exercising is more likely to stick.

Tip number four reminds us that we are not perfect.

  1. Progress outweighs perfection

Ms. Garrison explains that as humans we sometimes fall short on our goals. For example, we might not make it to the gym for our morning routines, but we can walk during our lunch break and walk after dinner. This is a tip that I take to heart and will often share with others. I think that any type of exercise, no matter how moderate, outweighs being sedentary, so get the workout in.

 Ms. Garrison’s fifth tip teaches cost-effectiveness.

  1. Summer days in the park

Last week, a link was posted of a youtube video showing Chef Robert Irvine working out in a hotel room. Well, the point of the video was to show that a good workout could be achieved without an expensive gym membership. Ms. Garrison says that public parks can be a great place to accomplish workout routines. She mentions that “the Philadelphia Art Museum steps is a great place for yoga poses and that park benches can be used for pushups. I am a huge believer in not going to the gym, but trying to use the resources that you have. I mean, pushups and yoga are great workouts that require little if no money.

Finally, the number six tip talks about portion control.

  1. Life is too short, enjoy yourself once-in-a-while

For the last tip, we are reminded that portion control is the key to any diet. Any food can be eaten if one works to master portion control and continue their exercise routines.

In closing, I enjoyed the column written by Kimberly Garrison, and it is always interesting for me to compare my fitness tips with those of experts in the field. I would say that most of the tips she and I are in agreement upon, but it ultimately comes down to a person’s drive to succeed and their will power to not overeat.

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

