A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Photo courtesy of: www.publicdomianpictures.net/view-image.php?image=59108

Turkey Day: Are You One of the Millions Working?

Leave a comment

5212982646_fbc3ea0f90_o.jpg

Vxla/Flickr

Thursday is Thanksgiving Day, but perhaps if you work in retail, it’s Black Friday Eve. I will preface this by saying that I do not work in retail, so I will not be working on Thanksgiving, but my mother does work in retail at the largest chain that I will choose to leave nameless. Anyway, Thanksgiving used to be a day where families sat down and ate together, making lasting memories. Today, retail chains have taken Thanksgiving away from many people because they are greedy, in my opinion.

The nameless retail giant where my mother is employed opens at 10:00 AM and closes at 7:00 PM and I just do not understand it. One might assume that if someone was purchasing items (food) for Thanksgiving dinner, they would have bought them the day before or perhaps they are going out to a restaurant (which I cannot condemn for opening on Turkey Day, I am sorry). So why does the retail giant have to open on Thanksgiving?

I believe that closing a store for one or two days per year is not going to significantly damage their revenue. Is the retail giant just evil or perhaps, are they  attempting to give their employees a chance to make some extra cash for the holiday on deck? With the last part of that question being posed, I will attempt to give you a few reasons to be (somewhat) thankful for working on Thanksgiving whether it be in retail or in the food service industries.

The first reason to be thankful for working on Thanksgiving is that you might receive time-and-a-half payment. According to my mother, her retail giant employer will be providing her time-and-a-half or overtime pay for working during the holiday. That money could certainly help someone when buying holiday gifts this season.

Another reason why one can be thankful for working on Turkey Day is the amount of tips they could receive if they are waitstaff. Many people do not like to cook on Thanksgiving, especially if you are anyone in my household, and most restaurants are open. This opens the door to chances to receive great tips because it’s possible people are in a good mood because they are with their family and could be on an extended vacation from their job.

In closing, I sympathize with my mother and many other employees who will have to work on Thanksgiving, but I also think that we have to be thankful for the men and women who serve. Whether it be our country (in the United States Military), community (firefighters, police officers and EMTs), or by serving delicious foods in restaurants because someone in the family decides he or she is not cooking. I think everyone has much to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

