A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Thanksgiving Aftermath: Are All of Those Carbohydrates as Evil as Thought?

Leave a comment

16947318656_4d341047f2_o

Jeremy Jenum/Flickr

On Thursday, you might have eaten a surplus of food. Grub that is rich in fat and the “evil” carbohydrates, such as pumpkin pie, rolls and stuffing. However, should we feel guilty about indulging in carbohydrates?

One question that has always stumped me, as someone who is food label conscious, is as to whether or not carbohydrates are as evil as thought? According to livescience.com, “carbohydrates are the sugars, starches and fibers found in fruits, grains, vegetables and milk products”. While this definition might be unclear to anyone who does not regularly study food science, including me, the key words in the previous statement “fruits”, “grains”, “vegetables” and “milk” all ring a bell. So, carbohydrates are good, right? Well they can be.

According to webmd.com, “when people choose carbs that are full of fiber, they are ingested slower into a person’s system, thus blood sugar spikes are often avoided”. Perhaps we just have to consume carbs that are rich in fiber, but often it is easier to grab a candy bar or snack cake, foods that are good for a quick burst of energy, but are depleted of their fiber. My first recommendation is to eat an apple or a banana because they are both sweet and have the fiber that “good” carbs must contain. However, for the extremely sweet palette, perhaps dipping the apples in some peanut butter or making a peanut butter and banana sandwich on whole wheat bread, would satisfy someone’s quest for something sweet. Come on, how could Elvis Presley be wrong?

Since January, I have tried to limit my consumption of carbs, which has led to my attempt to cut out bread whenever possible. I have experienced a noticeable body fat loss, and I   believe that it is because I have limited the “bad” carbohydrates found in sugary foods and drinks  along with some breads. If body fat is something that you have been wanting to lose, then I recommend that you cut out the bread and get your hamburger fix in a salad. However, if a healthier lifestyle is your most prominent concern, I recommend staying away from white bread when possible and drinking water instead of soft drinks.

In closing, as I am not a registered dietitian, I cannot necessarily “prescribe” a diet. I am simply sharing my results after limiting “bad” carbs for months. So the answer to the question as to whether carbohydrates are as evil as thought is: One should try to discover the answer for themselves, but do not forget the exercise. Exercise is the basis of creating a healthier lifestyle and it never hurts to try and get a little each day.

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

