A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Don’t Ride and Die…t with Trends

Leave a comment

Trends are all around us. Wear over-sized t-shirts, wear skinny jeans, wear the latest shoe developed by the famous rap musician. These are trends that often show up in the world of fashion and style. However, I am talking about a different type of trend, known as a diet trend.

How many times have you logged on to a social media website and have seen ads that say “two teaspoons of honey will make you instantly slim”? Or have you heard that new ad on the radio about a belly-flattening, “miracle” supplement?

Many people want a “quick fix”, however, there is none (I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news). One must work hard and have self-discipline to achieve his or her weight-loss goals. From my experience, making healthier choices and limiting the consumption of fat and carbohydrates helps one lose body-fat. Do you want your abs to show? Then you have to get your body fat percentage down.

I’m not someone who knows my body-fat percentage and I don’t care enough to find out, but I have seen a visible change. Some of my clothes are now ill-fitting or they don’t fit as well as they used to, so I have sized down in most of the clothes that I buy. I don’t think this is a coincidence. When you eat healthier and limit the carbohydrates, like bread and sugary drinks, you will lose body-fat.

Not to mention, exercise is a key too. You might lose the weight, but will you get the toned body that you might want? Exercise will help if you have any “problem areas” or areas that you don’t like about your body, and I recommend that you do some cardio whether that be a brisk walk outside or if you have access to a treadmill or stair-stepper machine. Weight-training or some type of resistance activity such as push-ups or pull-ups, can yield outstanding upper-body results.

 

Ultimately, a person has to make the decision as to whether or not they want to change their body. With so many eating disorders existing, the last thing that I want anyone to do is feel body shame. If working out and eating better makes you feel more confident or boosts your self-esteem then I am all for anyone who wants to transform their body.

 

320px-us_navy_100609-n-0933m-003_delayed_entry_program_applicants_participate_in_a_delayed_entry_program_olympics_event_at_discovery_world_in_milwaukee

 

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

