A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Oh, Baby: How to handle a new “bundle of joy” when you’re the aunt or uncle.

Leave a comment

After what seemed like an eternity, my very first nephew was born on Thursday evening.

Baby Dylan Nicholas is seven lbs., seven ounces and healthy, which makes myself and my sister very happy. Although, I have a four year-old niece, Briella at home, sometimes I forget how I used to help my sister and family take care of her. So, I thought that writing about how to help take care of a baby from the aunt or uncle’s point-of-view, was a good topic.

First thing is first, make sure that you try and hold the baby. When I first held my niece, Briella, I was somewhat intimidated because a newborn is so small compared to yourself. However, don’t be afraid to attempt holding he or she. As long as you hold the baby with his or her neck supported, in your arms, he or she will be fine. This is a great way for he or she to learn who you are, so make sure that the baby can hear your voice.

Second, sometimes the parents need a rest, so be sure to volunteer to watch the baby if you live nearby. A newborn can be a 24/7 job, so it helps if you learn how to change diapers or even feed he or she. It is not always easy to drop things in your life and and decide to help the parents, but it will help you acquire knowledge of how to take care of your own children, if you decide that you want to have them someday.

Third and finally, just try to be in the baby’s life as much as possible. If you live nearby, stop by and ask the parents if their is anything that you can do to help. Nieces and nephews are great in your life because it gives you a chance to learn the ins and outs of caring for infants, such as changing diapers and feeding he or she.

photo

Me holding my  nephew, baby Dylan Nicholas. My four year-old niece, Briella is in the background. Photo courtesy of: Peter Lutz Jr.

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

