A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

Coming Out Of Your Comfort Zone: The Struggle is Real

Leave a comment

As the title suggests, coming out of one’s comfort zone is perhaps one of the most nerve-racking things he or she can do. However, it does not have to be this way.

For self-disclosure, I am not the most social person. Many times I shy away from anything that I feel “forces” me to be around people, but since I am going to be in the communications world, I understand that I have to break out of my shyness and become a great communicator. You can take baby steps to combat the “shyness routine”, such as talking to someone at school or work that you might not normally communicate with. Broadening our horizons is the best thing that we can do because it is always an advantage for you to receive different perspectives.

Another way to shatter the walls around your “little world” is to do something that you might not normally do. For example, this year is my second with 89.7 WGLS-FM and recently the opportunity to work with a Minor League baseball team presented itself. It was hard decision for me to communicate to the station manager, and even convince myself, that I wanted to invest my time (most of my summer) into helping out on baseball broadcasts. As someone who at times feels nervous talking on the radio, this opportunity is going to be a challenge.

At the end of the day, I feel like we do not always challenge ourselves, and especially in a situation, such as my own, the worst that can happen is that you fail. I would rather try and fail than not know if I could be successful because I never attempted something.

There is absolutely no point in attending an institution four years and discovering that you do not want to pursue a certain career. Take the baby steps now, such as volunteering to be a leader on a class project, if you want to be CEO of a company one day, for you business majors. My personal belief is that leadership is the only way that a CEO can run a successful business. If one is not leading by example, his or her employees are not going to help the business. I know it is hard, but I believe it will serve you well once you graduate and you are looking to “make a name” for yourself.

Just like everyone else, I am a work in progress, but the more steps that we take today, the better off we will be later. If you have any other tips on how one can shatter their comfort zone, you can post them in the comments section. I think we will be surprised at how much we can actually accomplish if we give a solid effort.

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

