A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

It’s Finals Season: How and when do I study?

Leave a comment

Many colleges and universities are two weeks, or so, away from final exams. This can be the most stressful time for a student, especially one who might be completing 12-15 credit hours per semester. Not to mention, they could be working a part-time job or interning at some establishment.

So what do you do?

How and when do you study?

My first tip for you is to go somewhere that has limited distractions. A campus library is probably a good place to start. I would imagine that most libraries have free wifi. The internet can be an awesome tool for studying, especially if you are taking online classes. Perhaps, you don’t have access to a laptop? Well, most campus libraries that I have been to have computer labs, where plenty of computers are available for student-use.

 

Personally, my favorite place to study is at a Barnes and Noble cafe. Most likely, there’s a Barnes and Noble cafe not more than five miles from where you live, so it is decently accessible. Peaceful music, at a good volume, is another perk to a Barnes and Noble cafe. I am someone who likes to have some background noise in my ears, and their music is at an appropriate volume that it is not distracting. I forgot to mention, free wifi.

Perhaps, you spend much of your time at home or in your dorm. I know how distracting a house can be, so you might want to invest in some comfortable ear buds. Maybe you have  some music on your laptop or device that helps you eliminate background noise from your home or your dorm. Better yet, log onto rowanradio.com to listen to our online stream. We always play good music so you are sure to find your peace when studying for finals.

Studying for finals does not have to be as stressful as it can be. In my opinion, it is all about making the most of your time. Perhaps you get a half-hour break at work or at an internship, take your books with you. Studying for fifteen, twenty minutes is better than not studying at all. Finally, I don’t recommend pulling “all-nighters”. I understand that a college student’s life is busy, but you have to take the time out to get some sleep, even if you only get 4 or 5 hours. Sleep is important when preparing for finals because it gives you a chance to be stress-free for a little while.

624px-Sleep.svg

Get some sleep. Photo courtesy of: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sleep.svg

Hopefully, my studying tips will be useful this finals period and try not to stress as much because it is not good for you. I would like to wish everyone best of luck this finals season and if anyone has any other tips, post them in the comments section. It is interesting to read studying tips from other people.

4633595222_c44a30da72_o

Post your comments. Photo courtesy of: Jessica Allan Schmidt, https://www.flickr.com/photos/jpallan/4633595222

 

 

Author: Jason Lutz

I am currently a senior at Rowan University, majoring in Communications in the Radio, TV and Film department. Being an on-air radio host or a famous blogger are my career goals. Fitness is a passion of mine and I like to inform my readers about the latest diet crazes, exercise routines and even simple, life advice. My interest in fitness and health developed when I was a junior in high school. That year I lost over eighty pounds, and I have kept a majority of the weight off.

Leave a Reply

