A Community Affair

Local, National, and Lifestyle News

A Letter to First Time Dog Owners

Leave a comment

Dear first time dog owners,

You are not crazy, you’re just a concerned new parent.

On July 1, 2016 my boyfriend Anthony and I adopted our 4 year old bundle of joy, Chance. He’s an energetic, loving, 65 pound American Bulldog mix that swears he’s a lap dog. He has a smile that lights up a room and sassy personality, specially when you wake him up early. I’m only a few sentences into this post and I already refer to him like a human. We grew up around dogs but Chance is the first living creature Anthony and I are completely responsible for.

Since adopting Chance I began to notice a few new traits come out of both Anthony and I that could easily put us in the crazy dog owner category.

  1. You refer to your dog as a child.
  2. You disagree about dog parenting styles
  3. You can’t go to a store without buying something for your dog
  4. You worry about every sneeze, cough, or itch your dog has
  5. Cuddles are more important than work, homework, and life itself
Author: Alyssa I. Compa

My name is Alyssa! I am the Public Affairs Director at Rowan Radio and the host of "A Community Affair", the "Country Road", and the co-host of the "Early Bird Special". In the Fall of 2015, I co-produced a 30 minute radio documentary about gun violence in America. The project is an award winning piece. I inspire to be a radio or television producer in the near future.

Leave a Reply

